Sri-Sri Radha Syamasundar in Alachua on Gaura Purnima day

Hungry. That is the only word I can use to describe how I felt standing in front of Sri-Sri Radha Shyamasundar in Alachua on Gaura Purnima. My eyes were hungry for the form of Krishna. Radha-Shyamasundar are always impeccably dressed, everything is perfect about Them but on Gaura Purnima, they were especially breathtaking. Standing in front of Them, I wished that my eyesight was perfect- no- I wished it was more than perfect so that I can relish every part of Radha-Shyamasundar with my eyes. The altar reminded me of Janamastmi in Vrindavan, full of foliage and flowers, it was simply amazing. And Their outfits were so beautiful with shiny sequined colors that faded from one to another. What is amazing about the Lord is that a dress is just a dress and a necklace is just a necklace, but when Krishna wears it, it becomes transformed, it bewilders my mind! His beauty makes ordinary things more beautiful. It’s the complete opposite of how people dress! Amazing. Simply amazing.

Waiting for the abhisek to start I sat in the back of the temple room and mindlessly fingered my beads. Its bad, I know. I looked at Radharani and wondered why some devotees turn down the opportunity to serve Them. So beautiful and such an intimate service. I wondered how some devotees have the privilege to perform devotional service but neglect others the privilege to serve Them too. Certainly we should be greedy for Krishna, but we should never be stingy.

I don’t get people. Especially devotees.

Gaura Purnima marks a new year for us devotees. This year I would like to blog more. Last year was pretty rough for me, I was going through some things not worth talking about so bloging was last on my mind. But I did finally have the good fortune of going to India and I would like to talk about some of my experiences. Mostly so that I don’t forget, but also because I want to remember the amazing time I had. I remember worrying that I wouldn’t like India, I know so many very wonderful devotees who went to India and hated it but the minute I got there I loved it. I even loved the things that I didn’t like. I cant wait to go back.

Radharani is so so beautiful. I just love Her

Our home Deities, Sri-Sri Radha Madanmohan on Gaura Purnima Day

