Haribol!Hmm…Not really sure what to talk about. I have a couple things in draft but I dont feel like finishing it.Haha! Now I know what I wanted to talk about. Live Help on Krishna.com. After leaving my service at the temple I needed to become engaged in something and I saw the post on dandavats.com about needing volunteers. I decided to give it a go and see what it was all about.Well I sent an email and they asked for a brief bio and I had to answer, I think, 14 questions. The questions werent too difficult and after getting approved they gave me info on what my responsibilities are as a volunteer.   My thoughts on being a volunteerWell, I would say that it is quite a nice service and it made me feel a bit better. It extends to more than just people asking about the site but about their personal questions. At first I thought it was odd, like, dont these people have friends and family to confide in? But many times, the problem is friends and family. And I was surprised at the amount of people that dont actually have any association of devotees and depend on Live Help for motivation and encouragement.What really caught me off guard was how many people talk about their personal problems. I mean, their really personal problems. Things I would never ever think of telling anyone, even if I knew I’d never meet that person. But its great that they are so brave to say, “here are my anartha’s, do you have any advice?” And they really do work hard at fixing it. And heck, its a lot better than telling a sannyasi about it.One of the coolest things about being a volunteer is that we have access to the transcripts of each chat we have. I can read what other people have said in past conversations and pick up some pointers and information. Not to mention there is a search button so I like to type in the names of devotees I know and see if they ever used Live Help. In a way, I learn things about people I never ever knew before.I also think its neat that if we need to keep in touch with someone, we can still keep our identities private by telling people that if they need to email us they can just send an email to livehelp@krishna.com with my name in the subject line. I know many people dont think thats fair but I read the transcripts, some people think that LiveHelp is a place to pick-up devotee men and women and it can be really harassing. Which is another cool thing, since we have your IP address, if we find that you are out of line we can put up a temporary ban. If it continues after the ban term then it will be a permanent ban. And since our chats are monitored if we are out of line we get kicked off our service.The only thing that really sucks about this is sometimes we get some people who are either insincere or really rude. Like the other day, a lady wanted to know why Srila Prabhupada says women are lesser intelligent. As I started to respond she she said that the fact that I followed this was nonsense and then asked if she could speak with a senior male devotee. I had to be humble and say “sure” and connect her with someone else. What I really wanted to say was, “Look here you dumb bitch, you criticize Srila Prabhupada for saying women are lesser intelligent but you wont give me five minutes to respond to your question, who’s there sexist one now?”Of course thats not polite.So please people, when you have a question. Be nice and be patient. We arent getting paid and we have lives too. And if you just want to make stupid arguments and challenges then dont bother coming online because the volunteers get really irritated by it. At least I do. Actually, Im probably the worst person you can chat with if you want to argue because im not very nice and Im not very patient.And no, we arent machines,we have good days and bad days. Recently I read a transcript where a volunteer was a bit rude with a visitor for no reason at all. The visitor got connected with me eventually and we got things straightened out. So, if someone is rude to you, just try to get connected with someone else or just leave an email.Jaya. So thats my evaluation. Live Help is a useful tool and if you use it well it can be very beneficial.Edit: I just had a chat with someone and I wanted to add one last thing: please dont ask for money, do I look like Joel Osteen to you (he preaches a lot about making money and being prosperous, I think his church has the biggest following in North America)?We’re devotees of Krishna. We dont really hanker for money so we dont really have any. People also ask about getting a job or a spouse. Uggh, so annoying. Why would anyone ask about this stuff? I can understand asking about engaging in services. But every now an then you hear, “I am an engineer, I can not find job. Can you help me find job? I need job” or “I am looking for a wife. I am from blahblahblah caste. Can you find a wife for me? Maybe you can ask all your friend.” Please dont do that. Its not nice, and frankly, I dont care.Okay, thats not true. I do care. But its not my job or responsibility to help a visitor out like that. I dont even know who they are. Most of the people that visit live in India, what can I do?

